The Road to Self Discovery

Standard

I really admire people who have found their one true calling in life. Some find it at a very early stage. I know people, early in their twenties that are so sure of what they want to do for the rest of their lives and are ardently focused on goals they have set. On the other end of the spectrum, I stand, not entirely sure in which direction I’m headed and still in the process of discovering what it is that I like and dislike.

In 2012, I  spiraled down a well of despair for many reasons. I was trying to find a way to help ease away the debilitating anxiety I  felt on a regular basis. I decided to take a creative route to help myself.

I had always enjoyed drawing as a kid and thought that maybe I would adore it still. I started sketching and coloring with the absolute basic tools. I enjoyed it immensely.

I noticed how doing this a few times a week  helped to shift me in to a more positive mood with uplifted spirits. I felt that my energy reservoirs began to fill and the relentlessness became less exhaustive as the days passed.

I later began experimenting with watercolors ..In the beginning my work was sloppy at best, but as I kept going, I saw minute improvements.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to become a professional artist because I had never even considered going in to this field. For now, all I know is that I have found a creative outlet to express myself with and to show people what is in my mind’s eye.

123

From left to right: Lilac-breasted Roller birdportrait of Jinnah, portrait of Avril Lavigne

Perhaps my Origin Story is still in formation. Whatever the case maybe, I am doing the best I can and hoping that for now that is enough. To all the other people out there who haven’t found their “A ha!” moment, I would just like to say that the road is long and eventually.. things will fall into place…So fingers crossed.. it will all work out.

Visit my Facebook art page and give it a thumbs up Arthling

Hope you will check out some of my other posts too.

Thank you for reading!

15 thoughts on “The Road to Self Discovery

  1. Itika Singh

    Art and literature sure is an intellectual and impressive way of expressing yourself. Even if you don’t chose it as a profession, they can help a lot as hobbies.
    Nice portraits. Your efforts are evident through them. Also I’ve gone through your blog , not entirely-paucity of time; great blog. Keep going. 🙂
    I’ve recently created my blog with a fresh poem uploaded on it. I’d be glad if you go through mine and share your views. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Maria! Finding that one true calling is an elusive treasure. I have felt envious at times when people know what they want to do at a very young age. But now, I think that it may not necessarily be a good thing. I have drifted from one interest to another and have found multiple things fascinating. Sometimes I hear things like ‘oh I don’t have anything else to do!’ and I silently thank my stars that I am still thirsty.

    Your passion for drawing looks very promising and you must carry on. Best wishes!
    Kasturika

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

