Hey, Remember The Time We…

Standard

kids, recess, friend, memory, childhood, child, children, cartoon, field, school, happy, days, joy, disney

Throughout all walks of life we cross paths with multitudes of people. Sometimes, these interactions may seem completely ordinary, but you never know what kind of impact you leave behind. You never know that the reassuring hug or a few words of hope may have meant the world to a soul. Simple gestures such as holding the door open for somebody could bring a smile to their face.

These minute acts and behaviors combine to reveal what kind of person you truly are, and on the flip side, a sharp, painful yet subtle remark may hurt an individual. It may appear futile at the time, but it could have ruined their entire day. Most of the time we don’t think of our actions or the words that come parading off the tip of our tongues, all the while we’re completely oblivious as to what effect they may have on others, but I think that a solid way to not go wrong and avoid being a formidable jerk would be to hold it in, after all, there is no need for further addition of this kind in a world that already has a surge of fickle fools. Review your planned action for just a split second, consider if it does anyone any good at all and remind yourself that if you have nothing nice to say, silence can indeed be refreshing on its own as well.

About 9 years ago, my family shifted to another city. I had to leave my school and friends behind. I whined for days without end about how I wanted to go back. In the midst of the displacement mayhem, I misplaced all of my classmate’s contact information, I was completely cutoff from everybody. Many years later, I found myself thinking if they remember it all as I do? Could they be reminiscing of the “old times” like me? Well, just recently it just so happened that my Facebook stalking skills grew exponentially and I was able to find one of my long lost friends. I wondered if she’d even remember me.. I kept thinking that it was so long ago and she must have forgotten by now, but after re-connecting, it turned out she recollected more than I did. I got in touch with five more of my old mates and it’s good to find out that they all remember and are doing well.

I think it’s not so much the fact that we have excellent memories, but more likely the emotions attached to the experiences we had as kids have helped us to…well, not turn into complete strangers. Many psychological studies have shown that memories associated with emotions are more robust than those that lack any form of arousal or are simply too boring to be etched in the mind for long. And it is a good thing I wasn’t a bully or anything because that would just be awkward. I guess reunions must be a dreaded experience for the playground persecutor, isn’t that sad?

I, for one, am absolutely thrilled to see what my old childhood friends look like now, they are in their twenties going strong. It’s amazing how time goes by and even though things change so inconceivably..at moments like these it feels as though nothing has changed at all. It sort of puts everything into perspective. So yeah, I would like to thank Facebook at this point. You can talk about the pros and cons of social media all you want, but what I have now because of it, kind of overshadows most of the cons for me at least.

I read a quote a while ago by Maya Angelou that said..

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

After re-kindling with my elementary school friends, I find this to be very true indeed.

Here are a few sketches I made of the friends I was talking about.

10325711_244708249070758_8555584716209258602_n1555307_244708242404092_7739193668626585668_n
1979575_253432254865024_2419959117901089093_n

Thanks for dropping by everyone, have a great day 🙂

5 thoughts on “Hey, Remember The Time We…

Leave a Reply

